18 I FLUID PIRTEK AUSTRALIA MAY 2018 The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship season is off to a huge start with the first five rounds and twelve races already completed. The competition is fierce this year with every team giving their all each race for that coveted podium finish. The Pirtek sponsored DJR Team Penske had a tough start to the season with both cars striking trouble in Adelaide only to come back with podium finishes for both drivers in the Coates Hire Melbourne 400 and has since had great success with Scott Mclaughlin celebrating clean sweeps in both Phillip Island and Perth, achieving first place for Races 9, 10, 11 & 12! The Championship now moves to the Winton SuperSprint which will see the fifth round of the Pirtek Pitstop Challenge and give the teams another chance to show who has the quickest crew team in pit lane. The Shell V- Power Racing Team was dominant last year, finishing first and second, with Fabian Couthard’s #12 crew finishing just ahead of team-mate Scott Mclaughlin’s #17 outfit. The final was broadcast live across Australia on FOX SPORTS during coverage of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000. This year, the competition expands from six events to eight. The competition works with times recorded from pit stops, where it is compulsory for all drivers to stop for a minimum two-tyre change. The fastest crews at each event receives a score of 26 points, while the slowest team receives a score of one point. SPONSORSHIP SUPERCARS – OFFICIAL HOSE SUPPLIER & PIRTEK ENDURO CUP PIRTEK ENDURO CUP Pirtek Adelaide was on hand at the Adelaide 500 to help out with the On-Track Entertainment acting as the support unit to Darren Morgan’s Top Fueler.